My cadaver or stiff left to whomsoever!

August 18, 2008 at 1:52 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

I’m facing a decision that my readers might be able to help me with. Should my mortal remains be left to the Anatomy Department of Sydney University or to the Australian Organ Register? The Uni it seems would cart the stiff off and there would be no expense for one’s relatives. The body would be used mainly in the education of medical students. On the other hand the Organ Register would make organs available for transplants, an idea I like very much. But ofter this the remains are returned to your relatives and presumedly they would still be left with the expense of a funeral etc. In the case of the university programme that is the end of it as far as your nearest and dearest are concerned. I also like this but I like the idea of the living using my parts directly. So herewith the problem. What should I do, a stiff to anatomy or parts to other humans?

Given all the above I would like some prayers said for me. To quote 2 Machabees 12: 46

It is therefore a holy and wholesome thought to pray for the dead, that they may be loosed from sins. 

4 Comments

  1. deberigny said,

    From a reader:

    “You could compress yourself into a diamond and Deb can make a piece of jewellery out of it and wear you all the time.

    Personally I like the idea of cremation but apparently it is the green thing to do.

    May be get buried at sea and you could be dinner to tuna and sharks, and then they would get caught and get sold as fish and chips and you would be once again part of the great eco-system. Cool eh.”

  2. Al Pretty said,

    give it to the Uni…parts are probably worn out any way ant the students could probably do with a good laugh

  3. deberigny said,

    Another reader commented:
    “Gosh, that’s a difficult decision! Guy left his body to the Anatomy Department, a good idea in some ways. The only disadvantage being that as there is no funeral, there is effectively no point at which people left behind really say goodbye. As for parts for other humans, one thing you might want to consider is to ask your GP about the potential usefulness of your organs — given the bypass, etc, that may be an issue. I used to have my organs down for donation but since 1990 and the toxic damage, I don’t any more as I figure they wouldn’t be much use.”

  4. Owen Genty-Nott said,

    I have no doubts on this one David. My body is offered for replacement parts and what is left returns to my family. I have arranged funeral insurance cover so that they have no cost but do have the closure of attending my funeral along with those friends who feel they need to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

