Just between us!

April 14, 2011 at 10:24 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

I don’t want to be seen as a grammarian, which I’m not, and a previous post of mine makes this clear: https://deberigny.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/heedless-of-grammar-they-all-cried-thats-him-revd-r-h-barham/#respond

Aussies do make some terrible blunders, even those of us who should know better. Take the good old preposition between and its clumsy use by many who are prominent in the media.

For the general instruction of all of us, I can do no better than to quote from The World Book Dictionary:

“Between you and me. Prepositions regularly take the objective case of pronouns. When only one pronoun is used, this case is invariably employed: of him, for me, to her. But when two pronouns follow, less educated speakers often use the nominative case of the second, and sometimes of both: between you and I, to her (she) and I. Standard English requires between you and me, to her and me.

And from the Prayer Book: “Incline our hearts to keep this law.”  My readers, please don’t put my blog to the grammatical microscope!

Leave a Reply

