A Sepik Ironman and other matters

June 4, 2011 at 6:58 am (Angoram, Bob Gould, Commentary, Sepik Ironman, Wewak)

It can now be revealed that yours truly is the Lapun team’s contestant in the grueling swim in Wewak Bay on the 12th of this month.

I hope to arrive in Wewak on next Saturday’s plane in the peak of physical condition, to say nothing of my 75 years of swimming experience. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Sepik Ironman Selection Committee for the confidence they have in me to come up with a performance of the hightest standard. Records will be broken!

I know that excitement and tension are at this moment building up in Wewak. And I ‘ve been told that the Ironman event will be receiving world-wide coverage. Can I stand the pressure?

It’s not all happening in Wewak. Newtown is a continual place of exhilaration and liveliness. Often a habitat of fun and goings-on but we do have our sad moments. The residents were shaken by the sudden death of our famous bookseller and social and political activist, Bob Gould. Bob to those who only ran into him casually might think him a rather grumpy and cross old codger, and whatever way one might describe him you would be hard put to call him Mr Charm, but there was so much more to Bob as the numerous articles written by him and about him reveal. His life was lively interaction with the political, social, religious, Marxist, secular and philosophical life of Sydney and the broader Australian and international community. Bob , a person greatly missed by his family, friends and others, deserves to be dearly remembered.

On the question of death my loved ones here are under instructions that should I croak while I’m in PNG, I’m to be buried right there. I fancy the Catholic Mission Cemetery in Wewak or the end of the airstrip in Angoram. I’ve told all here that my insurance policy should soften the blow as they’ll receive $25,000. Of course, I’m not planning to, as it were, pass on as yet!

Just a few thoughts for the day!

7 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    At your age, the sharks will leave you alone!Cheers.Mark 0’Regan.

  2. Peter Johnson said,

    The only sharks in Wewak operate asian trading businesses & nobody is safe from them!

  3. Antony Ruhan said,

    Strewth! When you return to Sydney, will you start running with the Cantebury Bulldogs?

    Antony.

  4. Janine Wyatt said,

    WOW! Most impressed Dave – first planking now iron-manning! What next? Bungee maybe?

    • Anonymous said,

      Janine, a good suggestion! It’s all a bit up in the air, if you’ll excuse the imagery, as the Wewak airport is out because of damage caused by recent rioting, PJ is keeping me posted. I’m booked on Saturday’s plane – packed and ready to go in the peak of physical condition! Dave

Leave a Reply

