Today my email account was hijacked!

December 13, 2012 at 10:32 am (Commentary, David Wall)

Like a fool I fell for one of the oldest tricks employed by computer crooks, and under the guise of freeing up my Yahoo email account I revealed my password. This led to my email contacts getting scam emails requesting money under my name.

I’ve now closed my email account, and I’m without an email address, until I open another one in my name.

So if you get a stupid email in my name asking for money ignore it!

My sincere apologies to all my readers and contacts!!

David

4 Comments

  1. deberigny said,

    My email address is now: tokples32@gmail.com
    All my contacts feel free to get in touch using the above email.

    David Wall

  2. David Wall said,

    That’s a terrible email address, Dad 🙂 but gmail is a much better service. I spoke with a guy at work and he’s said the hack involves a program that opens your email (old one), takes a copy of whatever is sent to it, then deletes it straight away. Does the same thing as redirection (but Yahoo doesn’t allow redirection of emails). Let’s hope none of your friends fell for the scam.

  3. Don Pybus said,

    Dear David, it took me a little while to decide you had been invaded by a scam-hacker. I received a request for money and felt alarmed for a bit until the penny dropped. I hope you have got your system sorted and free from hackers, will be in touch soon, Regards, Don.

Leave a Reply

