“The Return of the Native” (Apologies to Thomas Hardy!)

December 23, 2012 at 7:06 am (Angoram, Commentary, Funerals, PNG, Sepik River, Wewak)

 

Dave Wall 001

 

Not quite The Return of the Native, but something of it, anyhow!

On the 29th of this month I hope to be in Wewak – staying in the Sepik for a month. Maybe a trip to Angoram to catch up with old friends.

If I should croak while there, I’ve left instructions that I’m to be buried in the nearest matmat – no involved movement  of remains!

I hope this trip will be a rich source of information that will inspire me to write better, and improve the usual 2nd rate stuff that I put on this blog!

To all my readers, wherever you are, all the best for Christmas and the New Year!

David Wall

2 Comments

  1. Don Pybus said,

    Dear David, this is not a comment as such, but a note to wish you greetings for the festive season and a healthy and happy New Year. I will not be able to visit NSW in Feb as planned but hope to get across in 2014, Regards, Don.

  2. Peter said,

    David, you’re the spitting image of my best friend from my New Guinea days for almost 30 years, Noel Butler, who lived on a little estate just outside Wewak on the way to the Wom War Memorial. Did you ever meet him? He came down to Australia in the late 70s but could never settle down, and drifted from place to place until, sadly, he passedaway in 1995.

Leave a Reply

