Legalised same-sex marriage and gender neutral lavatories; does the answer lie in a dream?

April 21, 2013 at 9:49 am (Commentary)

After the Kiwis legalised same-sex marriage I had a rather unusual dream.

I dreamt I had occasion to visit a public lavatory, and on entering, and going to the urinals, I found them surrounded by women, leaving me embarrassed about going ahead with my bladder action.

I looked left and right and one of the women said to me: “What’s wrong with you, you old bugger, get on with it! This is a unisex public toilet.”

In my dream I said to myself that I’d heard about a bit on the side, but this was just too much.

Anyhow, next morning I awoke and I wanted to know what this all meant.

This, I thought, was a case for my admired friend, J.P. Priestley. Readers of this blog would be aware of this gentleman.

He’s a man that is catholic in his qualifications and talents – a psychologist with rare insights into the human condition.

J.P. gave me a bit of Freud, Jung, Hall, Domhoff, and finally his own considered opinion: Accordingly, my dream reflected something of my own unconscious wishes, but not only the unconscious. This dream showed a lot about me, and what I actually was. The dream was a waking reality that was for me rather than for him to interpret. In other words, it’s only as important insofar as I myself thought it was important.

Priestley’s final advice was to tell me to show him anything that I write on this very subject.

In this particular area, J.P. is famous in what he calls his grammatical psychological analysis of a writer’s words. In this he brings to bear his vast intellectual skills to read the personality of the author.

He looks particularly for any mistakes in grammar and logic. This helps him build up a picture of the writer, and his dreams and desires.

There are those who claim that J.P. has his own rules of grammar, but it is not I, as a lesser mortal to question these!

I want to know what is the relationship between same-sex marriage and unisex public lavatories? Does the answer lie in gender equality?

I can understand that transsexuals would be more comfortable with gender neutral lavatories.

For me, I feel, the explanation lies in Jung’s archetypes and the collective unconscious.

It would appear that I have an underdeveloped psyche, and my dreams are trying to compensate for my waking life deficiencies.

Perhaps I may be permitted to misquote Winston Churchill:

“I cannot forecast to you the action of a dream. It is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma; but perhaps there is a key. That key is the dreamer’s self- interest.”

In fairness to Churchill, the correct quotation is:

“I cannot forecast to you the action of Russia. It is a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma; but perhaps there is a key. That key is Russian national interest.”

Leave a Reply

