The sudden death of Kevin Trueman in Port Vila

June 9, 2013 at 6:03 am (Angoram Club, artifacts, East Sepik District, expatriates, Funerals, Kevin Trueman, Papua New Guinea, Sepik River)

Kevin Trueman on the left, late 1960s in the Angoram Club

Kevin Trueman on the left, late 1960s, in the Angoram Club

See: http://asopa.typepad.com/asopa_people/2013/09/tribute-to-kevin-trueman-a-real-islands-entrepreneur.html#comments

For those who knew Kevin or knew of him, the news of his sudden death on the night of 7th June, would be received with much sadness.

We all extend to Evelyn, his wife, and family, the deepest condolences!

Readers of this blog are invited to write of their recollections of Kevin.

Some have sent me emails which I’ve taken the liberity of reproducing here in part.

Kevin in anyone’s book was an extraordinary character – once known never forgotten!

Vale Kevin Trueman

Robin Hodgson
12:08 PM (1 hour ago)
to me

Hello Dave and Debbie,

Richard just rang to say that Kevin died suddenly in Port Vila last night after feeling unwell at dinner.  Evelyn is apparently in Australia. Eunice Hanson advised.

Rob & Meg
Jun 8 (1 day ago)
to me, origin.wewak

Thanks for that David.He certainly lived life to the full.

I remember when he was in charge of Sepik Coffee.

Another Sepik character that is for sure.

Kind regards,Rob.

Alan Pretty
11:29 PM (15 hours ago)
to me

Quite a shock & sad to hear. I always had a good relationship with him & remember him fondly.

I remember the last time I saw him. Remy & I had a meal with him & Evelyn in his house in Cremorne (I think – one of those North shore suburbs). It was a splendid evening, some 30 years ago…

He led an amazing life – Vale Kev indeed…

LeighPerry
6:29 AM (8 hours ago)
to Don, me

Damn, another man down. Kevin was always larger than his life. A big man with a big heart. He had a good eye for artifacts, too.

Do you have an email address or mailing address for Evelyn?

Maybe in a way he was lucky, like Dieter, dying at the end of a day in a place and time that suited him.

Thanks so much for keeping all of us in touch, even for sad news. Carolyn

Carolyn Leigh Studios

via iPhone

From:

Sandra
To Evelyn

SANDY KING FROM THE OLD DAYS IN ANGORAM.

SO SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT THE DEATH OF KEVIN.

GEOFF AND I REMEMBER ALL THE FUNNY, HAPPY AND ADVENTUROUS TIMES WE

HAD WITH YOURSELF AND BIG KEV.

A WARM EMBRACE GOES OUT TO YOU AND YOURS.

KINDEST REGARDS

SANDRA HOUGH AND GEOFF KING

Sandra
12:37 PM (2 hours ago)
to me

………………..KEVIN WAS A CROCODILE HUNTER AND TRADER
OF CROC SKINS.

HE WAS FUNDED BY ARSHAK, CONSEQUENTLY GEOFF AND I WERE HANDING OUT THE PURCHASE
MONIES TO BOTH HE AND RIVAL RUDI TREUTLEIN.

I ONLY HAVE AFFECTIONATE RECOLLECTIONS OF THE OUTGOING KEV AND PATIENT SUPPORTIVE
EVELYN.

Sandra
Jun 8 (1 day ago)
to me

OH DEAR…………….BETTER GET THAT REUNION GOING BEFORE WE ALL FALL OFF THE PERCH.
REMEMBERED WITH AFFECTION.

At this stage we do not have an email address for Evelyn.

I encourage those who knew Kevin to make comments.

See: http://www.dailypost.vu/content/kevin-trueman-loveable-larrikin-who-lived-life-fullest

16 Comments

  1. J.Richard leahy said,

    For those who wish to contact Evelyn, her e-mail address is Like everyone else I was shocked when Eunice Hanson phoned me yesterday with the news. Kevin and I worked closely together on the Sepik during the 1970s and into the 1980s. He was a pleasure to do business with and it was impossible to be in any way depressed when Kevin was around. He will be greatly missed. Richard Leahy.

    • deberigny said,

      Richard, what is Evelyn’s email address? Dave

      • Anonymous said,

        Hi Dave, I do have an email for Kevin not sure if Everlyn uses it or not.
        ktrueman@vanuatu.com.vu . Hope this helps
        Diane Dettke

      • deberigny said,

        Diane, thanks a lot. Dave

      • Anonymous said,

        Hi Dave, I just received an email from Evelyn this morning.
        Please contact her on eatrueman@yahoo.com.au
        Kevin funeral will be held tomorrow 14th June at Pango Cemetary, Port Vila.
        Kind regards
        Diane

  2. deberigny said,

  3. deberigny said,

  4. deberigny said,

    John Middleton rang me from Karkar Island yesterday, and asked me to pass his condolences onto Evelyn and family.

  5. Anonymous said,

    This is Kevin’s eldest daughter, Mum and I are in Vila. Funeral is Friday 14th June. He was well loved here and both the expat and local community have been helping us. He will be buried here and honoured with a procession led by Tribal chiefs.

    • Michael Johnson said,

      Hi Laena,
      I was so shocked to hear of your dad’s sudden passing. He was so great to be around & I will always remember his big voice and infectious personality. Thinking of you, Justine, Alex and your mum very much at this very sad time. Please let me know your email so we can reconnect asap. My mobilie is: 0407-574-092. My email is: Michaeljohnson@kokodacapitalgroup.com.au
      My mum doesn’t use email but sends her love to your mum.
      Lots of love, Michael xx.

  6. Anonymous said,

    Evelyn’s email is eatrueman@yahoo.com.au,

    Laena Trueman

    • deberigny said,

      Laena, thank you very much for that. Your father will always be missed by those who knew him, and for his family, I know, so much more so!

      David

    • Michael Johnson said,

      Correction – my mobile is: 0407-574-092.
      Michael Johnson
      Brisbane.

  7. marble pics said,

    Dear David,

    I am in China and your site will not open. I tried it at several places but no give.! Probably down in HK it will.I dont have your current email address the old one bounced

    My belated response on Kevin:

    Kevin Trueman was a man’s man. He was fearless! He brought happiness and laughter at all the functions whether at his house with his very understanding wife or at the Angoram Club or down at Jim Macs which brings back memories of Kevin in full swing and Jim with his famous Mexican Dill Pickles. Kevin like Jim was a connoisseur of fine food. You could pick it with these 2 as my parents run a deli when I was a kid.. I also remember him vividly zooming along the Sepik alone in his John 10 on a crocodile hunt. In the field he was a known person of reliability. Sadly missed he went too soon just like Frank. My special condolences to Evelyn and his family. Wayne Cross The Far East

  8. Robert and Maureen McDewrmott. said,

    Dear Evelyn: I was just hasving a fit of the blues remembering the good times we had at and Wewak and Charleville (Wetlands) and I accidently got on to the web site which advised that Kevin had passed away. I know we never kept in touch after Maureen and I left Charleville which is sad. Please accept my condolences and I wish you and the girls well and I remember all the good times in PNG and wetlands. I remember you were both at my 40th birthday coincidently on the 7th June and unbeknown to me, Kevin was adding little bits of rum in to my stubbies all night so consequently I finished up quite smashed. I also remember trips on Kevin’s coaster boat and all the good times we had at the Wewak Yacht club and Sepik club barbeques.
    Evelyn, I hope we can contact each other again after all this time and I also remember with fondness the times I helped with the stick raking of some of the paddocks at Wetlands. That’s all I have at the moment and I hope everything is going as well as can be and fondest regards to you and the girls.
    Yours in friendship: Rob and Maureen McDermott.

Leave a Reply

