Gold, Frankincense and Myrrh

July 27, 2013 at 5:06 am (Commentary)

 

The events surrounding the build up to and actual birth of Prince George of Cambridge left me with many mixed feelings.

Prior to the birth pictures of crowds surrounding the hospital and in other places around London lead me to believe that something most extraordinary was about to happen.

What were we about to witness? We were told that everything with Kate Middleton was fine.

The assemblies of people had a certain ecstasy about them, almost, I would say, a rapturous enchanted expectation!

Were we about to see eschatological happenings? Watching the television pictures of people waiting I was sure that I saw three distinguished looking men of Middle Eastern appearance each holding something. Immediately the thought came to my mind, were they three wise men of Biblical significance?

I immediately got on the phone to my Protestant Fundamentalist friend and told him that I take everything back about what I said to him previously about his eschatology, as I’m now sure we are witnessing the Rapture or a form of it now in London, and that I had a feeling that the Second Coming was about to happen.

The only things I felt that were missing were the three camels of the three wise men.

At last a birth occurred and we were told that the proud parents were waiting for the Queen to name the male child.

At the very least I expected the child to be called Emmanuel, signifying that God is with us. I know it would be a bit hard to follow Isaiah 7:14 to the letter: “Behold a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and his name shall be called Emmanuel”.

But when the name George Alexander Louis was declared I was completely disillusioned. This had nothing to do with the Second Coming only a further boost to the Hanoverian succession and a spit in the eyes of the Stuarts, the rightful heirs to the UK throne!

So out the window went my new found eschatology and in came my strong republican sentiments.

I can now only see and explain all that I felt as something of a pre-tribulation rapture, and say out loud: Viva La Republic!

Let us all save the gold, frankincense and myrrh for the advent of this.

2 Comments

  1. Peter Johnson said,

    Sound modern parents should take great care with their offspring’s names and initials. With the initials “G.A.L” the poor child’s Eton nick-name could well be “girlie.” Of course we COULD these days, in some nations have Queens married to queens! What a mad world we live in!

  2. Antony Ruhan said,

    Countless, beautiful babies are born every minute all over the world. I pray every day that God will protect all women and their children from abuse, violence and poverty. Women and their kids need a lot of help, whichever country they come from.

Leave a Reply

