Knights of the Realm in PNG

September 25, 2013 at 1:13 am (Commentary, Dreikikir, East Sepik District, Maprik, Papua New Guinea, PNG, Sir Pita Lus)

To say that knights of the realm are thin on the ground in Wewak is not exactly correct. Without too much trouble on any one day in the town, you could run into Sir Hugo, Sir Michael, Sir Pita, and other knights.

In January of this year I saw Sir Pita Lus, but didn’t recognise him, as it had been many years before that I had last seen him.

Sir John Kaputin once wrote this of Sir Pita:

“The former member for Maprik, Sir Pita Lus might have been perceived as vociferous and a loose cannon, but, behind this façade, there was a very serious mind concerned with real issues, expressed in pidgin with lots of humour and punctuated with colourful phrases in English.”

I had encountered Pita many years before in and around Dreikikir, well before he was elected to the House of Assembly. On one occasion he waved down the Land Rover I was travelling in from Maprik to Dreikikir, and in a rather forceful manner seemed to be demanding a lift to Dreikikir. I responded to him by asking, was he asking or telling me to give him a lift? His manner then changed, and he said he was asking. I then said to him: “Get in the back.”

This year while in Wewak in company with Peter Johnson, Peter saw and started talking to Sir Pita. After Pita left I asked Peter: “Who’s that?” I was informed that  was Sir Pita Lus. (Please excuse my conversational grammar!)

Later I was motivated to write to Sir Pita in my rather poor Pidgin, resulting in me not sending the epistle:

16 Janueri, 2013

Dia Sir Pita,

Mi sori tude, mi luk long yu, tasol mi no save pes bilong yu, taim yu tok long Peter Johnson long klostu pos ofis long Wewak.

Bipo mi wok long Malaria Control long Dreikikir, nau mi save long yu wok long Talatala Misin.

Bihain mi ofiso long 1964 Ileksen.

Mi lik tok gude long yupela,

Dave Wall

What I was trying to write in so many words, was that I was sorry not to have recognised him, and that I knew him many years before when I was with Malaria Control in Dreikikir, and he was with the Protestant Mission.  Also, in 1964 I was an electoral officer

Here are just a few thoughts of mine about a knight of the realm, and a former colourful PNG politician.

3 Comments

  1. Kevin Lock said,

    Dave, interesting blog. I have bookmarked it. I knew Pita Luis, known to some as ‘Screw he Luis’. When I was manager of Bainyik Voc Centre we drove to a school in his area to do maintenance on a teacher’s house he stopped our Landcruiser and interrogated our driver. Most threatening!

    Kevin
    kalock@iinet.net.au

  2. Look to Sir Pita for words of wit and wisdom! | Stories by David Wall said,

Leave a Reply

