Oh, what great repartee, but did Churchill actually say it?

October 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm (Commentary)

[Another Man’s Poison

Nancy Astor was a native Virginian who became Britain’s first woman member of the House of Commons. In the 1930’s she headed a clique in the House of Commons that found something to admire in Hitler’s Germany. Churchill described an Astorite as an appeaser “who feeds the crocodile hoping that it will eat him last.” One time shortly thereafter, Churchill found himself at Cliveden, the Astor mansion.

After dinner Lady Astor presided over the pouring of coffee. When Churchill came by, she glared and said. “Winston, if I were your wife, I’d put poison in your coffee.” “Nancy,” Churchill replied to the acid-tongued woman, “if I were your husband, I’d drink it.”]

Source: The Internet

6 Comments

  1. Stephen Smith said,

    To which she replied “Winston you are drunk” and he said “Yes and you are ugly but in the morning I shall be sober”

  2. Alan Pretty said,

    then She sai……
    Nah I betternot repeat it this is how myths good or bad begin.
    Alpal

  3. Bob Hayward said,

    Then she said, “I married beneath me, as all women do”

  4. Anonymous said,

    …and one accidental witness thought, “…go on you two…I like the show..”.

Leave a Reply

